voo2do
Changes to Contexts

In December 2009, a change was made to the behavior of contexts. In particular, each project or task can now be in only one context. Click here to learn more about these changes.

Help > Using Contexts

Contexts (formerly called Views) in Voo2do are way to group your projects and tasks. You can use contexts to:
  • separate out your projects for home and work
  • divide tasks for different teams or clients
  • track work for different places or moods
Each task in Voo2do is assigned to a context, or the default no context. The dashboard gives you an overview of all your contexts. The other sections of Voo2do let you choose whether you want to see all tasks, or just those in a certain context:
Each task starts out in the context where it was created. To move a task to a different context, use the menu.

To create a new context, select new context... from the drop-down. After you give it a name, you'll be able to move some projects into it.

You can edit your contexts at any time by clicking the customize button.

back to tasks »

 

Changes to the Behavior of Contexts in December 2009

In December 2009, a change was made to the behavior of contexts. In particular, each project or task can now be in only one context (or in no context). This change was made in response to multiple user requests, and should make Voo2do easier for most users.

However, if you previously had a project visible in multiple contexts, it will be visible in only one now. For example, if you had a context called Work with the meeting and phone projects, and another context called Desk with phone and email projects, your project-context organization has been automatically changed. The phone project, which was in both Work and Desk contexts, will now be in only the Desk context.

That sucks! I want the old way back!
We're sorry for the inconvenience. This really is a conceptual change in how contexts work, and while we believe it's for the best overall, it definitely presents a challenge for some users.

If you're one of them, we're sorry. Perhaps it will help to explain how things used to work, how the work now, and why we decided to make this change. (You're also welcome to email us and let us know how you feel about the change.)

How Contexts Used to Work
Originally, contexts were simple groupings of projects. (So simple, at first, that they were called Views.) If you had a bunch of projects you wanted to see at work, and another bunch of projects you wanted to see at home, you could choose which projects went into which context.

Then we added the ability to move a task into a different context. If you were, for example, in the unfortunate habit of taking work home, you could now track that with Voo2do. So you might have most of the tasks in your presentation project sitting in the work context, but put the task “practice in front of mirror” into the home context.

Cool, right? The confusing part, though, is that now a context can be associated with a task and with a project. Suppose you're in the home context, and add the task “print notes” to the presentation project. Should that task be in the home or work context? The old way, it would go into the work context, because that's where the presentation project is from, even though you were looking at the home context when you created that task. That confused a lot of people.

Now, imagine that in addition to those home and work contexts, you had another context called work2. Then your new “print notes” task would be visible in the work and work2 contexts, but not in the home context. Unless you manually moved it into a context— then it would be in that context only, although all the other tasks in that project might be visible in both contexts.

We think this was confusing, and so did many users, who wondered what was going on with contexts.

How it works now
Now the rule is simple: a task stays in the context where it was created unless you move it. Each task is visible in exactly one context (or the default no context). You can move a task at any time, or use the customize contexts dialog to move entire projects.

Because a task is assigned to a context when it is created, having a project exist in multiple contexts wouldn't make much sense. Its tasks would be visible only in the context where they were created or explicitly moved, so even if the project were in multiple contexts, its individual tasks wouldn't be. So that's why a project can only be in one context now: because a task can only be in one context.


blog · discussion group © 2010 Voo2do LLC bugs? hugs? support@voo2do.com